Patient Reviews

At Indianapolis Gastroenterology and Hepatology, our motto is "Earning Trust Through Quality." For more than 40 years, we have worked to provide the community with the best available care, striving to treat mind, body, and spirit in every patient we see. Before requesting a consultation with one of our GI practices in Indianapolis, IN, we invite you to spend some time reading reviews from past patients to find out more about our treatments and approaches regarding GI healthcare.

5.0 Review from W.H. Source: Google Mar 01 2024

"The doctor, nurses and staff kept my wife and I informed of what was happening."

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google Feb 15 2024

"Very professional . Dr cheng was very. Understanding and very helpful with going forward with a health plan"

5.0 Review from B.M. Source: Google Feb 14 2024

"Still in the process of testing so will hold my review until after I have a diagnosis."

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Feb 10 2024

"Dr Cheng is great and takes his time. His nurse was very nice also."

5.0 Review from S.R. Source: Google Feb 09 2024

"Even though there was a big mixup as to my appointment, Dr Cheng took a very personal interest in my symptoms and gave me an inordinate amount of information and insight. I am very happy that he was thorough as well as professional!"

4.0 Review from A.V. Source: Google Feb 08 2024

"Dr. Cheng always listens to my concerns and makes every effort to find a solution. The front office staff are friendly and helpful. This last visit I was not impressed with the person that took me back to the room. She was rude and seemed to not like her job."

5.0 Review from H.B. Source: Google Feb 03 2024

"I met him first time .My experience was pleasant. He seems very knowable and polite.He listens to his patients with patience I give him 5 stars."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google Jan 27 2024

"I'm gla Dr. SHEN CHAK is treating me...he is a very knowledgeable profesional and gentleman."

5.0 Review from D.S. Source: Google Jan 26 2024

"Dr. Cheng and his staff were on top of their game when it concerns my procedure on the 25th. I've had several of these over the years and no problems from this facility. Thank you all for your professionalism and kindness."

5.0 Review from M.J. Source: Google Jan 19 2024

"Very professional, kind, forthcoming, and timely. I never once doubted I was in the very best of care."

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google Dec 23 2023

"Dr. Cheng has a great bedside manner and listens to his patients concerns."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Dec 13 2023

"Dr. Cheng was on time and thorough. Very good bedside manner.I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from L.K. Source: Google Nov 29 2023

"Dr Cheng was caring and professional. He took his time in explaining his findings after my husband's upper GI and Colonoscopy. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from W.S. Source: Google Oct 17 2023

"Dr Cheng is very informative and takes time with me to make sure understand the procedure and what the results mean. He seems to truly care about his patients."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Oct 16 2023

"Dr. Cheng is very friendly, kind and understanding. It is a pleasure to work with him."

5.0 Review from R.L. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"Dr. Cheng was very nice and explained my procedures very well. I would definitely recommend Dr. Cheng."

5.0 Review from B.L. Source: Google Oct 13 2023

"Dr. Cheng is so professional and very personable. I trust his judgment completely. The nurses were fantastic too. Including the anesthesiologist. Great job done by alll.Thank you!"

5.0 Review from D.G. Source: Google Oct 01 2023

"Dr.Cheng really works at getting to the root of the problem! He doesn't rush you through but takes the time to listen and I appreciate that about him!"

5.0 Review from J.J. Source: Google Sep 24 2023

"Dr Cheng is amazing. He takes time to explain everything and makes me feel at ease. I appreciate everything that he and his team do."

5.0 Review from K.E. Source: Google Sep 22 2023

"Very kind and considerate. Answered all questions in a very mild manner to reassure the patient."

5.0 Review from D.P. Source: Google Sep 20 2023

"Everyone was wonderful"

5.0 Review from L.W. Source: Google Sep 20 2023

"I was a little late to my appointment but Dr Cheng was so nice to see me. The Doctor took time to view my past medical issue and present. Doctor also listen to my concern"

5.0 Review from S.P. Source: Google Sep 16 2023

"My time was respected and the procedure was explained in a manner I could understand!"

5.0 Review from A.T. Source: Google Sep 13 2023

"Great bedside manner, explained things thoroughly & made sure I was comfortable & understood & had no questions."

5.0 Review from K.S. Source: Google Sep 13 2023

"I don’t normally leave a review but I must share experience with Dr. Cheng which was wonderful. Upon arrival the front desk staff greeted me making me feel welcome/ comfortable being there. Dr. Cheng was very attentive to my medical history in order to provide the best care while addressing my concerns for the visit. If you are looking for a doctor that can address your gastrointestinal issues/ concerns throughly make an appointment with Dr. Cheng you will not be disappointed and glad you did."

5.0 Review from C.B. Source: Google Sep 01 2023

"Dr Cheng is very professional and takes the time to be personal. Recently I had a 2nd colonoscopy procedure from Dr. Cheng. Prior to the procedure he met with me to explain what to expect and review findings from a previous colonoscopy 5 years early. He was very thorough before and after the procedure. Two weeks later I received a personalized report regarding the colonoscopy. I feel fortunate to have Dr. Shan Cheng as my gastroenterologist."

5.0 Review from A.T. Source: Google Aug 25 2023

"I had a great appointment and Dr. Cheng was very helpful and listen to what I had to say. He was able to guide in the right direction of treating. I would highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from L.B. Source: Google Aug 11 2023

"Dr. Cheng is the best Physician I've been to. He's very knowledgeable, listens and takes time with you. I referred my son and others to him. I trust what he recommends for my health!"

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google Jul 30 2023

"Great doctor!"

5.0 Review from R.G. Source: Google Jul 05 2023

"Dr. Cheng has a great bedside manner, he was very thorough, professional, and knowledgeable not only in his field of expertise but with my complex health issues. He had pulled my medical records and spent time reading over the other documents I provided to make sure he was treating me appropriately. I highly recommend Dr. Cheng."

5.0 Review from C.N. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"Everyone was very pleasant and willing to answer all my questions"

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"Dr Cheng and all the nurses are wonderful. Highly recommend."

5.0 Review from A.P. Source: Google Jun 29 2023

"Dr. Cheng is an excellent doctor"

5.0 Review from H.H. Source: Google May 18 2023

"Very good service and friendly"

5.0 Review from G.R. Source: Google May 11 2023

"After years of misdiagnosis, someone told me about Dr. Cheng. From the first visit he knew how to treat my symptoms and gave me a correct diagnosis. I've been seeing him for several years now. He always takes time to listen. His staff is also great to work with!"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google May 11 2023

"Dr is very good and is a very caring person explained things"

5.0 Review from S.L. Source: Google Apr 25 2023

"Very professional and talks to you like a person instead of a medical chart!"

5.0 Review from T.W. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"DR. Cheng is a wonderful doctor who listens to your issues and explains in easy to understand terms. He took his time and there was no feeling of being ignored or rushed. I highly recommend. He was my parents doctor and that is why I picked him. A genuine kind and caring person."

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google Feb 17 2023

"I have been going to Dr.Cheng since 2018 and he is very caring doctor who listens to his patient. I highly recommend him to anyone. I am fortunate that I met him who helped treat my condition and improved my quality of life."

5.0 Review from K.D. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr. Cheng is a wonderful caring doctor. He listens and is so good with figuring out what the problem is and has a plan to fix it. I feel fortunate to have found him because I had been dealing with stomach issues for many years.All the ladies in the office are very caring and helpful too. Noone rushes you."

5.0 Review from S.K. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"I have been going to Dr.Cheng since 2018 and he is very caring doctor who listens to his patient. I highly recommend him to anyone. I am fortunate that I met him who helped treat my condition and improved my quality of life."

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"He is a doctor I like. He asked me what problems I had, I told him about my problem and he listened to me very carefully and told me a lot of reassuring things. He has extraordinary gentleness, he is calm and very interested in what I was telling him. He took my worries away. I recommend it with great pleasure! He is a grade 10+ doctor. I also want to thank you for everything, Dr. Shan Cheng"

5.0 Review from T.D. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"He is always on time and apologizes if he isn’t. He is very thoughtful and makes sure you understand everything."

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng is a very thorough physician. He ask questions and really listened to my responses. He came up with a doable action plan. I’m very pleased with my visit."

5.0 Review from K.G. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I had my 1st appointment with Dr.Cheng and I am glad I found him. He read my chart notes from my prior Gastrointestinal Doctor and I felt like he knew me because he took the time to read my history. There aren't many Doctors around like this anymore."

5.0 Review from Google User Source: Google Nov 20 2022

"Very thorough, professional and friendly. I appreciated the time Dr Cheng took to make sure I was comfortable. The nurses, anesthesiologist and doctor were at their best."

5.0 Review from R.M. Source: Google Oct 25 2022

"I currently see Dr Shan Cheng for my severe Crohn’s disease. He has been an excellent resource for information and help with both my work and normal life. I recommend him a thousand times over."

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I highly recommend Dr. Cheng. I am a very complicated case and he has helped me so much. He really takes his time and makes sure to answer all of my questions in detail. He is great at explaining his plans and each procedure as well. He is also willing to work with other doctors to come up with solutions for treatments. The office is also wonderful. I have made many phone calls and the office staff and nurses are quick to respond and answer all questions. They are also wonderful at getting refills submitted quickly and working with insurance companies to get medicines approved fast. I can’t thank this group enough for all they have done for me this past year!"

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng is very professional, personable, and caring. Takes time to listen to your complaints. Research’s problem to help you. Have always found him to be understanding , patient and very kind. I highly recommend him to be your gastro-intestinal doctor."

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng is knowledgeable, respectful & pleasant. He takes time to listen."

5.0 Review from M.F. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"I appreciate Dr Cheng’s extensive knowledge and his ability to communicate clearly. His staff at the endoscopy center were kind, caring, and competent."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Have been going to Dr. Cheng for years. He had a great bedside manner, explains everything thoroughly, and is happy to answer any questions you may have. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Cheng is a very kind doctor. I have seen him for many years he is always on top of of my health conditions & explains everything to me where I can understand. I would recommend him to any family member or friend. All his staff have always been kind & respectful"

5.0 Review from M.O. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Cheng and everyone at Indy Gastro treated me like a person, not just a "next.". Dr Cheng is professional and personal both and he knows his specialty very well."

5.0 Review from M.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very thorough, professional and friendly. I appreciated the time Dr Cheng took to make sure I was comfortable. The nurses, anesthesiologist and doctor were at their best."

5.0 Review from B.E. Source: Google May 25 2022

"This was a great experience. The doctor was patient, kind and very informative. He was not In a hurry to get us out of the exam room. Then Did not hesitate to make a referral to IU, because he felt this would be a better course of action."

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great group. Kind careful. Make an uncomfortable procedure easy!!!!"

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I've been going to Indianapolis Gastroenterology for over 35 years. Dr. Cheng has been my physician for about 10 years. He's very knowledgeable and professional. I've had multiple dialations, scopes and Colonoscopys. All have gone very smoothly. I have complete trust in his abilities. I would recommend him very highly."

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great doctor! He listens to your concerns, answers all your questions, and genuinely cares about helping you. I would definitely recommend him to anyone needing a GI doctor."

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Cheng is a very caring and attentive physician."

5.0 Review from R.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng was extremely kind, professional and informative - answering all my questions and thoroughly explaining the procedure."

5.0 Review from S.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I have found that Dr Cheng to be very caring. His conversation with me put me at ease for the procedure. Because I trust him, this is the third time I have had him to do this procedure for me. I do trust him."

5.0 Review from G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The location parking is awful! But very impressed with punctuality. Dr. Cheng listened why was there and explained treatment options and why he felt I was already doing what could be done."

5.0 Review from D.E. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Professional nice explanation of things was great"

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng is a very kind doctor and cares about his patients. I would recommend him and his services to others."

5.0 Review from N.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My name is Nancy Martin, I have been seeing Dr. Cheng for at least 4-5 yrs. I came to him a hot mess of a person with many GI issues. Slowly but surely he is helping me to feel better all around. He told me my first visit as I was crying, hurting and feeling just lost, I was a puzzle, but he promised to get all my pieces back together ❤ and he IS!!!!! He has the best "bed side" manner towards his patients that I have ever seen, makes sure I understand everything down to the last detail so I do not worry or freak out as my anxiety runs very high and am afraid of the unknown. I would recommend him to anyone, even my parents if ever needed (God forbid). If you need help in the GI issue of your life, I recommend him. He is awesome and will do anything possible to figure out the problem 😀 Thanks Dr. Cheng, for everything you have done and are still doing to help me. My puzzle is getting completed 🙌"

5.0 Review from P.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Shan Cheng was very thorough explaining the procedure and process. Pleasant bedside manner."

5.0 Review from P.U. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Really thorough Dr. I haven't felt this good in years."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng is awesome!!! Very nice and professional!! Explains procedures and take very good care of his patients!! I am very appreciative of his care for my health!!!"

5.0 Review from J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"In my experience Dr Cheng was very thorough and took his time to explain everything in detail. He was very polite and had great bedside manner"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Cheng was very attractive to my concerns and needs, very friendly and thorough. I was very at ease and appreciated the connection."

5.0 Review from Y.X. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I feel fortunate to be able to find Dr. Cheng. He is very knowledgeable and addressed all my concerns directly and properly. He'd also patiently answer all your questions and make his recommendations accordingly. I would highly recommend him for your first choice of GI doctor! There is just one thing: it's a bit hard to make appointment with him as he has a very tight schedule. I think this is because he is really good and many people are waiting in line to meet him!:)"

5.0 Review from G.G. Source: Google Nov 04 2021

"The location parking is awful! But very impressed with punctuality. Dr. Cheng listened why was there and explained treatment options and why he felt I was already doing what could be done."

5.0 Review from E.F. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr.Cheng is the most wonderful Dr he listens to his patients concerns and thoughts he has remarkable beside manners I would recommend Dr Cheng to all my friends my family also is s patient of his as well..The staff is very friendly as well..."

5.0 Review from F.W. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Chang has provided outstanding care for me over the past 8 years. He is not only thorough and highly competent but caring and compassionate. While attending to physical needs and concerns he always has a moment to inquire about my wife and other personal matters. I cannot imagine a better physician! Sincerely Fred Weller"

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"From the moment I walked through the doors at St. Frances and entered the GI office I was warmly greeted by the front desk receptionist. From my admitting nurse, my anestheologist and my post op nurse they were are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. My highest praise goes to Dr. Cheng though. I lost my father to colon cancer in 2017'. He was only 73 and passed 3 months after his colonoscopy which revealed a malignant mass in his lower colon. I was with my father when he had his colonoscopy and the doctor found the mass. I have struggled emotionally ever since. I am 45, having my very first colonoscopy during Covid and my family was not permitted to be in the office. I completely and totally understand but nevertheless it was a hard decision to follow through. Ultimately I proceeded with my procedure and upon my very first encounter with Dr. Cheng he treated me with compassion, sympathy over the untimely passing of my father but most importantly he made sure to reiterate that he was glad I decided to have my colonoscopy as it was a great way to honor my father. He consoled me as I wept and assured me I was in good hands and that they would take great care of me. I can honestly say over my life span I have had several surgeries and procedures but this was by far my best experience and procedure I have ever done. I am so very grateful I decided to keep my appointment and follow through. Hands down I highly recommend Dr. Cheng for not only his knowledge and compassion but for his bedside manner. Since my colonoscopy I have done nothing else but sing his praises as well as the staff at his office! Fantastic experience even though it was 2020' and Covid restrictions were in place. Best of luck to you and your loved ones and I hope your experience was as great as mine!"

5.0 Review from R.R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr.Cheng was both personable and professional towards my wife and I during her checkup, being asian my wife sometimes relies on me to be with her during medical examinations and he okayed this and understood that I was her advocate and respected that."

5.0 Review from S.F. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Very professional and friendly. Dr. Cheng takes time to listen and understand."

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Professional, personable, and informative."

5.0 Review from A.M. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Cheng and his staff are amazing. He always studies my chart before he talks to me and knows exactly what is going on with my health. He is very caring and attentive. Highly recommend!"

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He was nice nice and personable. Made me feel very relaxed. Afterwards, explained my results and his office has checked up on me several times."

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I did not have a long wait to see the doctor. Dr. Cheng was courteous, knowledgeable of my problem. He explained the treatment plan thoroughly. Great experience."

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Everyone was professional and very caring. I felt comfortable and pleased that the staff was friendly yet focused on my needs. I would definitely recommend Dr. Cheng to anyone. I’ve moved a lot because of my work and my experience with other gastroenterologists has not always been positive. I’m lucky to have been referred to Dr. Cheng - he spends time with me, I never feel rushed and he addresses any questions and/or concerns I have."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Cheng is very personable and answered all my questions and concerns. Made me feel very comfortable about the procedure I was about to have. Came in to talk with me before and after procedure which I thoroughly appreciated. Very professional.I also received a call from a staff member later in the evening to see if I was doing ok."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He is very helpful to clarify issues and to gather all information."

4.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Cheng was very attentive and very kind and explained everything to me. He is very knowledgeable and prescribed a medicine that has changed my outlook on my day. I am so happy that my brother had checked him out otherwise I would not be this happy. Thank you Dr. Cheng for having a plan."

5.0 Review from S.Q. Source: Google May 25 2020

"I had a life-threatening incident involving esophageal bleeding. I believe Dr. Cheng saved MY life. Thank You Dr. Cheng."

5.0 Review from J.G. Source: Google May 25 2019

"He is a excellent doctor!"

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google May 25 2018

"Dr Cheng is an excellent Dr that actually takes time to listen to the patient and talk to them and discuss the best treatment and does it(not like some Dr. "well we will try this", and ends uo not working.)"

5.0 Review from S.E. Source: Google May 25 2018

"Dr. Cheng is an outstanding doctor. He spent over an hour with me explaining everything about my fatty liver. He is patient, kind, and full of knowledge. I simply can't say enough about what an amazing doctor he is!"

5.0 Review from Z.P. Source: Google May 25 2017

"Excellent Doctor!!!"

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google May 25 2017

"I was a social worker meeting many doctors. I learned that becoming a patient of Dr Chen gaghest recommendation possibleve me a personal and unique ways he uses in treating his patient. There was a time when doctors took a personal and compassionate approach and I would watch as a little girl just so amazed at the kindness and patience.Dr. Cheng is one of the finest doctors I have met. No wonder my doctor told me "don't get any doctor but Cheng". He truly deserves the highest award possible and I constantly tell patients in need of that treatment type. I RARELY do this. I pray God conts to bless him and we also pray for him. I humbly thank Dr. Cheng for everything."

5.0 Review from B.W. Source: Google May 25 2017

"Excellent doctor start to finish."