Patient Reviews

At Indianapolis Gastroenterology and Hepatology, our motto is "Earning Trust Through Quality." For more than 40 years, we have worked to provide the community with the best available care, striving to treat mind, body, and spirit in every patient we see. Before requesting a consultation with one of our GI practices in Indianapolis, IN, we invite you to spend some time reading reviews from past patients to find out more about our treatments and approaches regarding GI healthcare.

5.0 Review from A.C. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"I had an awesome experience for my procedure at The Endoscopy Center. From check-in to pre-procedure, to procedure room, to recovery and departure, everything was top notch. Everyone was kind, courteous, efficient, and professional which put me at ease. I was happy to have my screening colonoscopy exam done by a highly skilled, experienced team with exceptional quality. Dr. Cheng is compassionate and caring in addition to being knowledgeable and technically skilled. Will 100% return here for my surveillance exams without hesitation."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"Although a colonoscopy is not a fun thing to review... Indy Gastro and Dr. Morelli are some of the best in their field."

5.0 Review from A.E. Source: Google Jun 15 2023

"Doctor Drake is thorough and listens to patients. When I had a questionable result from a colonoscopy, he ran tests a second time then has been diligent in his follow up."

5.0 Review from J.C. Source: Google May 24 2023

"All went well with my recent colonoscopy. Dr. Haynes was kind and professional. All my nurses were considerate and helpful."

5.0 Review from G.V. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"Dr. Jacob Has been my gastroenterologist for 20+ years - colonoscopy and more - and I can't imagine seeing anyone else."

5.0 Review from T.W. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"I was referred to Dr. Drake after my initial colonoscopy. He has performed two more this year to remove large polyps and to verify I was “all clear”. He takes time to explain the process and easy any concerns I had. He has a wonderful bedside manner and I would highly recommend him!"

5.0 Review from C.T. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"I was so nervous going in for my colonoscopy and endoscopy. I was on the verge of tears from how nervous and scared I was, but every single person I spoke with helped me feel better and they went above and beyond to help me be more comfortable. The anesthesiologist Kate and Dr Orion were two of the best. Kate assured me she has been doing this job for a long time and I was in good hands and they helped me by talking to me before I went under. I honestly couldn’t have asked for a better team! Thank you so much!!💕"

5.0 Review from G.M. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"If you don't mind getting a colonoscopy, make an appointment with Dr. Drake."

5.0 Review from J.H. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Had a colonoscopy, Michael Morelli and his team were thorough, very well qualified, professional and a team member prayed for me. I was put at ease by everyone for a "could have been" stressful appointment. Wow, I was pleased when I left."

5.0 Review from J.T. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"This was not my first rodeo with having a colonoscopy but this was by far THE BEST one I’ve had! I have to go again in 3 years and while I’m not a fan of colonoscopies, I know I’m not going to dread having it like I have in times past. Dr. Vincent and his staff for the gold!! I took the SUTAB for the prep (highly recommend - google for a coupon because it’s expensive without one) and whatever it was (propafale (sp?)) they used to knock me out made a HUGE difference also!!"

5.0 Review from K.B. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"Dr. Shan Cheng was amazing! I typically have to explain to people what Lynch syndrome is and why I have to get a colonoscopy so young but with him I didn’t! He was very attentive, professional, and nice!"

5.0 Review from E.G. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I had the easiest time ever while having a colonoscopy. The staff was friendly, curtesy and knowledgeable. First time ever I wasn’t sick afterwards. Thank you Dr Vincent."

5.0 Review from J.B. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I needed a colonoscopy and endoscopy asap and no one could get me in quickly. I called in the morning one day (early enough to start the prep) and had the tests done the next day. Dr was professional and had a great bedside manner. Very pleased"

5.0 Review from C.S. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I had my colonoscopy without sedation and was able to observe not only my colon but also the professional work of Dr. Roberts. I have worked with professionals for 35 years and recognize that quality when apparent. A good doctor."

5.0 Review from D.D. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"I went to Dr. Jacob’s for a routine colonoscopy and endoscopy. From the moment I was greeted at check-in until I was released, was very pleasant. The staff was very kind, patient, understanding and professional! They definitely helped put my anxiety to ease. I would definitely recommend Dr. Jacob’s!!"

5.0 Review from G.R. Source: Google Aug 25 2022

"My experience with Dr. Drake was as pleasant as a colonoscopy can be. He and his staff were professional and kept me informed of all that would be happening. I highly recommend him and Indianapolis Gastroenterology."

4.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"I had a colonoscopy in August. Dr. Roberts told me to call the office for a follow up appointment. I tried for 2 months. I called...waited on hold for 40 min on my lunch breaks, then would get disconnected. I tried the website, no one called me back. Finally I just gave up. When I went to my urologist 8 months later he, he asked if I had seen anyone in gastro yet and I told him how it was impossible. He called the office and 2 hours later someone called me to make an appointment finally. Something needs to change with that appointment system!"

5.0 Review from P.C. Source: Google May 25 2022

"My first colonoscopy so was not sure what to expect but Dr Morelli and All of his staff made the entire process and procedure easy and painless Thanks doctor"

5.0 Review from C.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I highly recommend Dr. Morelli and his staff. Although no one really wants to have a colonoscopy, when it’s called for you want the best. He is kind, efficient, professional and his staff is as well."

5.0 Review from M.D. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Very prompt and professional from the check-in to the recover. Dr. Roberts was very pleasant and easy to talk to and understand. Nurses were all fantastic. This was like my 6th colonoscopy at this office and my far my best experience. Thanks for making an unpleasant experience more pleasant."

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I've been going to Indianapolis Gastroenterology for over 35 years. Dr. Cheng has been my physician for about 10 years. He's very knowledgeable and professional. I've had multiple dialations, scopes and Colonoscopys. All have gone very smoothly. I have complete trust in his abilities. I would recommend him very highly."

5.0 Review from R.B. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Jacob recently performed his fifth colonoscopy on me. I have used his services for more than 20 years. The polyps he removed over the years were prevented from becoming cancerous, and I'm convinced a little discomfort every five years contributed to my longevity. Needless to say I hardily recommend his professionalism, and skills."

5.0 Review from S.J. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I had a Colonoscopy done by Dr Jacobs and was so pleased when he came into talk with me afterwards! He did not just give me information on what he just found but looked at other tests done to try to find out why I am still having pain! He suggested even another test to figure out why I am having pain. I call that going that other mile! Which all doctors should do but don’t!"

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Jacob is friendly, knowledgeable, personable and good. I had an issue after hours, the night before my colonoscopy. He was paged, returned my call and put my anxiety at rest."

5.0 Review from J.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Robert Vincent spent some time with me at my last visit. I am scheduled for a colonoscopy and n December. If you haven't had a colonoscopy and your 40, you should get one."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I recently had a colonoscopy by Dr. Orinion, and would highly recommend him! He spent time with me to explain everything about this procedure & the risks vs. the benefits. He then explained his findings to my husband & I, even though I don’t remember any of it! It was all over & I was home the same morning. It’s so refreshing to find a doctor that is so skilled, and has a great “bedside manner” too! I must also say his staff was very kind & courteous. Linda G"

5.0 Review from A.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"This was my first colonoscopy at age 47. I was going to wait until 50 until I had a hospice patient of mine pass from colon cancer at 50 a few months ago. I promised her I would not wait. The entire staff was amazing from the waiting room to recovery and made it clear as to what would be taking place. The anesthesiologist, Dr. Hall prayed with me and Dr. Haynes explained the procedure thoroughly. I highly recommend this group."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I needed a Colonoscopy sort of in a hurry. I needed a new Gastroenterologist. We had already decided we wanted any new Drs. to be affiliated with Major Hospital Partners in Shelbyville, IN. When I called, I “drew” Dr. Paul Haynes. His staff made me feel welcome to the Practice and when I met him the very first time at the hospital before my Colonoscopy, he came in the room speaking to make me comfortable. He answered all my questions and assured me he was well experienced and that all would be well. He was right and right now Dr. Paul Haynes is my Gastroenterologist of record❗️"

5.0 Review from P.H. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Haynes and his staff made my colonoscopy an experience that was so much easier than I had made it out to be in my head. Dr. Haynes made sure everything was clear and that I was comfortable. His staff was kind and respectful."

5.0 Review from R.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"A great experience, as colonoscopy's go. Very professional and efficient. I'll go again if necessary."

5.0 Review from B.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"This is the second colonoscopy I've had with Dr Orinion. He is very personalable, explains everything in terms that you can understand and it's just very kind and puts you at ease. I found that he and his staff are both very nice and very efficient."

5.0 Review from M.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"This is my second colonoscopy with Dr. Orinion. Both visits were expedient, the staff was well organized and friendly. Each step in the procedure was thoroughly explained. Each staff member stayed with me until they were sure I understood each step in the process, and went out of they’re way to make sure I was comfortable. After recovery the doctor came in and explained the results. He recommended another procedure in five years. They stay with you with the utmost care for your well being."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"From the moment I walked through the doors at St. Frances and entered the GI office I was warmly greeted by the front desk receptionist. From my admitting nurse, my anestheologist and my post op nurse they were are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. My highest praise goes to Dr. Cheng though. I lost my father to colon cancer in 2017'. He was only 73 and passed 3 months after his colonoscopy which revealed a malignant mass in his lower colon. I was with my father when he had his colonoscopy and the doctor found the mass. I have struggled emotionally ever since. I am 45, having my very first colonoscopy during Covid and my family was not permitted to be in the office. I completely and totally understand but nevertheless it was a hard decision to follow through. Ultimately I proceeded with my procedure and upon my very first encounter with Dr. Cheng he treated me with compassion, sympathy over the untimely passing of my father but most importantly he made sure to reiterate that he was glad I decided to have my colonoscopy as it was a great way to honor my father. He consoled me as I wept and assured me I was in good hands and that they would take great care of me. I can honestly say over my life span I have had several surgeries and procedures but this was by far my best experience and procedure I have ever done. I am so very grateful I decided to keep my appointment and follow through. Hands down I highly recommend Dr. Cheng for not only his knowledge and compassion but for his bedside manner. Since my colonoscopy I have done nothing else but sing his praises as well as the staff at his office! Fantastic experience even though it was 2020' and Covid restrictions were in place. Best of luck to you and your loved ones and I hope your experience was as great as mine!"

5.0 Review from R.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Drake actually cares about his patients. I have a unique situation where I travel for my work and Dr. Drake agreed to follow me via telehealth. I get the necessary blood work done wherever I am at and I have agreed to come to Indy for my colonoscopy. I really appreciate him continuing to follow my care. I think he is an excellent doctor and feel really comfortable with him. And his staff is right on top of things. Any time I have questions, they respond ASAP."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google May 25 2021

"What an awesome Doctor. Caring and explained everything clearly and concisely. I went to him with my last colonoscopy and will go back when it is time. We also talked about another procedure and we are planning on it summer 2021. Can’t say enough good things. The nursing staff was also excellent. Anesthesiologist was awesome as well. You can’t go wrong going to Dr. Orinion"

5.0 Review from S.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I took my brother to see this provider on May 3, 2021, and our whole experience was just amazing! Dr. Morelli took the time to ask the appropriate questions which allowed him to get to the root of my brothers issues. Dr. Morelli then decided that he wanted to move forward with scheduling my brother for an Endoscopy and a Colonoscopy. My brother and I felt like Dr. Morelli showed genuine concern pertaining to the health issues that we were concerned about as well! Dr. Morelli and his staff were superb in taking care of my brother and his needs. I give high fives to Dr. Morelli and his staff for an excellent job well done!👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽🎉😁"

5.0 Review from K.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"I had a good experience,when I had my colonoscopy, everyone was so nice and I was so nervous, but made me feel much better,Dr. Orinoco was personable and he had a confidence about him that put me at ease, good experience!!"

5.0 Review from J.J. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Orinion recently handled my colonoscopy. Very kind, took time to explain everything in detail. Great experience."

5.0 Review from T.L. Source: Google May 26 2020

"I had a colonoscopy today...Everything went well..The only thing I hated was the prep...I drank half of the prep first..Finished that with no problem...The 2nd half I started drinking at 4:30 am..I had a hard time..I felt sick..Everybody in the endoscopy center was wonderful & nice"