Patient Reviews

At Indianapolis Gastroenterology and Hepatology, our motto is "Earning Trust Through Quality." For more than 40 years, we have worked to provide the community with the best available care, striving to treat mind, body, and spirit in every patient we see. Before requesting a consultation with one of our GI practices in Indianapolis, IN, we invite you to spend some time reading reviews from past patients to find out more about our treatments and approaches regarding GI healthcare.

5.0 Review from G.R. Source: Google May 11 2023

"After years of misdiagnosis, someone told me about Dr. Cheng. From the first visit he knew how to treat my symptoms and gave me a correct diagnosis. I've been seeing him for several years now. He always takes time to listen. His staff is also great to work with!"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google May 11 2023

"Dr is very good and is a very caring person explained things"

5.0 Review from T.W. Source: Google Feb 25 2023

"DR. Cheng is a wonderful doctor who listens to your issues and explains in easy to understand terms. He took his time and there was no feeling of being ignored or rushed. I highly recommend. He was my parents doctor and that is why I picked him. A genuine kind and caring person."

5.0 Review from K.D. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"Dr. Cheng is a wonderful caring doctor. He listens and is so good with figuring out what the problem is and has a plan to fix it. I feel fortunate to have found him because I had been dealing with stomach issues for many years.All the ladies in the office are very caring and helpful too. Noone rushes you."

5.0 Review from M.T. Source: Google Jan 25 2023

"He is a doctor I like. He asked me what problems I had, I told him about my problem and he listened to me very carefully and told me a lot of reassuring things. He has extraordinary gentleness, he is calm and very interested in what I was telling him. He took my worries away. I recommend it with great pleasure! He is a grade 10+ doctor. I also want to thank you for everything, Dr. Shan Cheng"

5.0 Review from T.D. Source: Google Dec 25 2022

"He is always on time and apologizes if he isn’t. He is very thoughtful and makes sure you understand everything."

5.0 Review from K.G. Source: Google Nov 25 2022

"I had my 1st appointment with Dr.Cheng and I am glad I found him. He read my chart notes from my prior Gastrointestinal Doctor and I felt like he knew me because he took the time to read my history. There aren't many Doctors around like this anymore."

5.0 Review from A.L. Source: Google Sep 25 2022

"I highly recommend Dr. Cheng. I am a very complicated case and he has helped me so much. He really takes his time and makes sure to answer all of my questions in detail. He is great at explaining his plans and each procedure as well. He is also willing to work with other doctors to come up with solutions for treatments. The office is also wonderful. I have made many phone calls and the office staff and nurses are quick to respond and answer all questions. They are also wonderful at getting refills submitted quickly and working with insurance companies to get medicines approved fast. I can’t thank this group enough for all they have done for me this past year!"

5.0 Review from J.P. Source: Google Jul 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng is very professional, personable, and caring. Takes time to listen to your complaints. Research’s problem to help you. Have always found him to be understanding , patient and very kind. I highly recommend him to be your gastro-intestinal doctor."

5.0 Review from B.H. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng is knowledgeable, respectful & pleasant. He takes time to listen."

5.0 Review from M.F. Source: Google Jun 25 2022

"I appreciate Dr Cheng’s extensive knowledge and his ability to communicate clearly. His staff at the endoscopy center were kind, caring, and competent."

5.0 Review from R.T. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng was extremely kind, professional and informative - answering all my questions and thoroughly explaining the procedure."

5.0 Review from K.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng is a very kind doctor and cares about his patients. I would recommend him and his services to others."

5.0 Review from P.U. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Really thorough Dr. I haven't felt this good in years."

5.0 Review from R.P. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr. Cheng is awesome!!! Very nice and professional!! Explains procedures and take very good care of his patients!! I am very appreciative of his care for my health!!!"

5.0 Review from K.W. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Cheng is a very caring and attentive physician."

5.0 Review from G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"The location parking is awful! But very impressed with punctuality. Dr. Cheng listened why was there and explained treatment options and why he felt I was already doing what could be done."

5.0 Review from C.K. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Great group. Kind careful. Make an uncomfortable procedure easy!!!!"

5.0 Review from L.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Cheng was very attractive to my concerns and needs, very friendly and thorough. I was very at ease and appreciated the connection."

5.0 Review from L.G. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Have been going to Dr. Cheng for years. He had a great bedside manner, explains everything thoroughly, and is happy to answer any questions you may have. I highly recommend him."

5.0 Review from M.M. Source: Google May 25 2022

"Dr Cheng is a very kind doctor. I have seen him for many years he is always on top of of my health conditions & explains everything to me where I can understand. I would recommend him to any family member or friend. All his staff have always been kind & respectful"

5.0 Review from B.E. Source: Google May 25 2022

"This was a great experience. The doctor was patient, kind and very informative. He was not In a hurry to get us out of the exam room. Then Did not hesitate to make a referral to IU, because he felt this would be a better course of action."

5.0 Review from A.S. Source: Google May 25 2022

"I've been going to Indianapolis Gastroenterology for over 35 years. Dr. Cheng has been my physician for about 10 years. He's very knowledgeable and professional. I've had multiple dialations, scopes and Colonoscopys. All have gone very smoothly. I have complete trust in his abilities. I would recommend him very highly."

5.0 Review from R.R. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr.Cheng was both personable and professional towards my wife and I during her checkup, being asian my wife sometimes relies on me to be with her during medical examinations and he okayed this and understood that I was her advocate and respected that."

5.0 Review from E.F. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr.Cheng is the most wonderful Dr he listens to his patients concerns and thoughts he has remarkable beside manners I would recommend Dr Cheng to all my friends my family also is s patient of his as well..The staff is very friendly as well..."

5.0 Review from D.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"From the moment I walked through the doors at St. Frances and entered the GI office I was warmly greeted by the front desk receptionist. From my admitting nurse, my anestheologist and my post op nurse they were are extremely knowledgeable and friendly. My highest praise goes to Dr. Cheng though. I lost my father to colon cancer in 2017'. He was only 73 and passed 3 months after his colonoscopy which revealed a malignant mass in his lower colon. I was with my father when he had his colonoscopy and the doctor found the mass. I have struggled emotionally ever since. I am 45, having my very first colonoscopy during Covid and my family was not permitted to be in the office. I completely and totally understand but nevertheless it was a hard decision to follow through. Ultimately I proceeded with my procedure and upon my very first encounter with Dr. Cheng he treated me with compassion, sympathy over the untimely passing of my father but most importantly he made sure to reiterate that he was glad I decided to have my colonoscopy as it was a great way to honor my father. He consoled me as I wept and assured me I was in good hands and that they would take great care of me. I can honestly say over my life span I have had several surgeries and procedures but this was by far my best experience and procedure I have ever done. I am so very grateful I decided to keep my appointment and follow through. Hands down I highly recommend Dr. Cheng for not only his knowledge and compassion but for his bedside manner. Since my colonoscopy I have done nothing else but sing his praises as well as the staff at his office! Fantastic experience even though it was 2020' and Covid restrictions were in place. Best of luck to you and your loved ones and I hope your experience was as great as mine!"

5.0 Review from A.K. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Professional, personable, and informative."

5.0 Review from C.H. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Everyone was professional and very caring. I felt comfortable and pleased that the staff was friendly yet focused on my needs. I would definitely recommend Dr. Cheng to anyone. I’ve moved a lot because of my work and my experience with other gastroenterologists has not always been positive. I’m lucky to have been referred to Dr. Cheng - he spends time with me, I never feel rushed and he addresses any questions and/or concerns I have."

5.0 Review from D.C. Source: Google May 25 2021

"He is very helpful to clarify issues and to gather all information."

4.0 Review from B.S. Source: Google May 25 2021

"Dr. Cheng was very attentive and very kind and explained everything to me. He is very knowledgeable and prescribed a medicine that has changed my outlook on my day. I am so happy that my brother had checked him out otherwise I would not be this happy. Thank you Dr. Cheng for having a plan."

5.0 Review from S.B. Source: Google May 25 2018

"Dr Cheng is an excellent Dr that actually takes time to listen to the patient and talk to them and discuss the best treatment and does it(not like some Dr. "well we will try this", and ends uo not working.)"

5.0 Review from S.E. Source: Google May 25 2018

"Dr. Cheng is an outstanding doctor. He spent over an hour with me explaining everything about my fatty liver. He is patient, kind, and full of knowledge. I simply can't say enough about what an amazing doctor he is!"